Gummy bears


Reading — Intermediate Level
Share this exercise

Read the text and answer the questions

Gummy bears are small, fruity and gummy candies. The traditional gummy bear is made from a mixture of sugar, glucose syrup, starch, flavoring, food coloring, citric acid, and gelatin.

The image of the gummy bear is stamped into a tray filled with powdered starch. The hot, liquid mixture is poured into the indentations in the starch and allowed to cool overnight. Once the mixture has set, the candies can be removed from the mold and packaged. The original design for each type of candy is carved into plaster by an artist, then duplicated by a machine and used to create the starch molds for the production line.

Gummy bears made with bovine, porcine or piscine gelatin are not suitable for vegetarians and vegans. Those with porcine gelatin or from animals not slaughtered in either of the two contradictory ritualistic fashions do not conform to kashrut or halal dietary laws (making these types of gummy bears unsuitable for jews and muslims respectively). In its factory in Turkey, Haribo produces halal bears which are made with bovine gelatin. Also, some gummy bears are made with pectin or starch instead of gelatin, making them suitable for vegetarians.

Large sour gummy bears are larger and flatter than regular ones, have a softer texture, and include fumaric acid or other acid ingredients to produce a sour flavor. Some manufacturers produce sour bears with a different texture, based on starch instead of gelatin.
Source: Wikipedia
  1. It can be inferred in the first line that gummy bears are   .

  2. Gummy bears generally contain a mixture of   substances.

  3. The production of gummy bears is seemingly a/an   process.

  4. Vegans and vegetarians are those individuals who  

  5. Halal food(s) are those that are permitted to be consumed according to   law.


Practice your writing skills by discussing the questions below

  1. Are gummy bears healthy? Why? Why not?

  2. Why are gummy bears popular among children?


    Need help?

    Ask a question or reserve a class with Jennifer


      • typically, a corrosive or sour-tasting liquid of this kind
      • the kinds of food that a person, animal, or community habitually eats
      • a building or group of buildings where goods are manufactured or assembled chiefly by machine
      • something made by combining two or more ingredients
      • an object or group of objects wrapped in paper or plastic, or packed in a box
      • (poured) to flow rapidly; flood
      • (remained) stay, continue
      • requiring or involving detailed and specific knowledge or training
      • an odorless, tasteless white substance occurring widely in plant tissue and obtained chiefly from cereals and potatoes
      • based on old-fashioned ideas : not new, different, or modern


    From English
    No translation